Reading  -  Highlight: Winners of the 10th Edition o…


Highlight: Winners of the 10th Edition of the Design Excellence Awards 2023 by IDCS revealed

Celebrating local and international talent within the interior design industry, Interior Design Confederation Singapore (IDCS) spotlights the most exceptional interior design projects across the Asia Pacific region.

The Interior Design Confederation Singapore (IDCS) announced the winners of the 10th Annual Design Excellence Awards (DEA) at the awards evening on 14 December 2023 at the Shangri-la Hotel, Singapore.

This latest edition of the prestigious DEA awards saw 177 awards given out across 32 categories, recognising interior design excellence, innovation and talent throughout Singapore and Asia Pacific.

 The awards featured two sections: Interior Design Excellence Awards (IDEA) for completed built projects by industry professionals; and the Spatial Design Awards (SPADE) for completed academic projects by design students. The IDEA section received 176 IDEA entries in 23 categories, while the SPADE section received 68 entries in the 9 student categories. 

The winning entries were selected by an esteemed jury panel comprising of accomplished and respected interior design professionals, including: Barbara Barry, Colin Seah, Thomas Pheasant, Marc Almagro, Amy Picanco and Cameron Woo.


Special Award categories:

Outstanding Achievement Award – This award was presented to a seasoned veteran in the industry, whose innovative and inspiring work has carried weight across the interior design landscape.

Winner: LTW Designworks, an international design studio specialising in luxury hospitality and residential interiors.

Project of the Year Award – This recognition was presented to an exceptional project that has set a new standard for design excellence.

Winner: Nic Graham and Associates for Artyzen, a new luxury hotel that uniquely embodies Singapore’s rich heritage and vibrant Peranakan culture. Established in Sydney in 1998, Australian Interior Designer Nic Graham is celebrated for hospitality, commercial, and high-end residential projects in Australia and the Asia-Pacific region.

Emerging ID Firm of the Year – Silver Winner, Spacebar Design

Spacebar Design took the silver award for Emerging ID Firm of the Year with their extensive range of high quality projects across the commercial design categories.

Best F&B Design | 2001 - 5000sqft - Gold Winner, MUME Restaurant by Hot Design Folk

The designers transformed this restaurant from a well-loved casual eatery to a high-end experiential dining destination atop Moscow's tallest skyscraper.

Best F&B ≤ 2000 sqft – UMMI Beirut -  Gold Winner – LAANK

The interior design is a nod to the Lebanese roots of the owners, embracing Lebanon’s rich

culture and heritage while still providing an elegant setting that is distinctively intimate and modern.

Best Workplace Design ≤ 2000sqft – Gold Winner, Penn Color Technology Center by DP Architects

In the conceptualisation for Penn Color’s pioneering Design Centre in Asia, the design prioritised three things in its scheme: simplicity and sustainability, user-centrism and a different perspective to industrial space design.

Best Sustainable / Best F&B under ≤ 2000sqft - Gold Winner, Puzzle Coffee by LAANK

The designer’s goal was to create a space that conveyed a strong message about coffee’s relationship with the environment and Puzzle Coffee’s pledge to save the planet.

Best retail Design ≤2000 sqft: Gold Winner, Coulisse Heir by Spacebar Design

Designed with privacy in mind, each customer gets ushered into their own organically shaped pod for an exclusive experience with luxury and comfort.

Best Residential Design | Apartment 1001 – 2000 sqft: Gold Winner, Ripple Apartment by Right Angle Studio

Conceived as a residence to exude the tranquillity of water, this dual-storey apartment has been given a modest overhaul to rejuvenate its interiors. Originally trapped in a blockaded, heated condition, the unit is spatially reconfigured to maximise airflow and access to light sources.

For more information on the other winners, visit:

15 January 2024